2 CD

VA - Utopic Cities : Progressive Jazz In Belgium 1968-1979 (2CD)

Artikel 27 van 29
€ 18,00 (inclusief btw)

VA - Utopic Cities : Progressive Jazz In Belgium 1968-1979

Label : SDBAN

Format : 2 CD - Compilation

Release : 11/06/2021

Style : Jazz - Belgian Pride 


On June 11th, independent groove label Sdban Records will release Utopic Cities: Progressive Jazz in Belgium 1968-1979 featuring twelve essential compositions from a highly creative period in Belgian jazz. The release follows Sdban's critically acclaimed Let's Get Swinging: Modern Jazz in Belgium 1950-1970, released back in 2017.

Utopic Cities is an eclectic selection of forward-thinking jazz from the Belgian underground, including the left-field fusion of Marc Moulin's Placebo, Koen De Bruyne and Solis Lacus; the intense post-bop of Jacques Pelzer and Lou MacConnell; the cutting edge soul jazz of Philip Catherine and Open Sky Unit or the otherworldly avant-garde of Babs Robert and the Brussels Art Quintet. Recorded in the aftermath of the revolutionary year 1968, this music is the fruit of a highly creative momentum in Belgian jazz history that produced a unique sound which distinguishes itself from its American source of inspiration by an indefinable characteristic that can be hardly better described than 'Belgian'.


1 Placebo - S.U.S.
2 Solis Lacus - Utopic Cities
3 Open Sky Unit - Open Sky
4 Brussels Art Quintet - Vas-y Voir
5 Koen De Bruyne - Pathetic Dreams
6 Raphaël - Archangelo

1 Philip Catherine - Memphis Talk
2 Jacques & Micheline Pelzer Quartet - Face Reality
3 The Kenny Clarke-Francy Boland Big Band - Sakara
4 Marc Moulin - Tohubohu pt. I
5 Babs Robert - Pro Forma I
6 Lou MacConnell - Naima


Geen artikelen in winkelwagen.
© 2018 - 2024 Music Media Corner | sitemap | rss | webwinkel beginnen - powered by Mijnwebwinkel