3 LP

Philip Glass - Satygraha

Vorige Artikel 23 van 50 Volgende
€ 55,00 € 45,00 (inclusief 21% btw)

Philip Glass - Satygraha

Label : Music On Vinyl - MOVCL052

Format : 3 LP - Deluxe Boxset

Release : 09/2020 

Style : Contemporary - Post Modern 


The second in Glass' trilogy about men who changed the world, Satyagraha's sub-text is politics. The opera is semi-narrative in form and deals with Mahatma Gandhi's early years in South Africa and his development of non-violent protest into a political tool. (Satyagraha is a Sanskrit word meaning 'truth force'). The first two acts each contain three scenes; the last is one continuous scene. Each act is dominated by a single historic figure (non-singing role) overlooking the action from above: the Indian poet Rabindranath Tagore in Act I, the Russian author Leo Tolstoy in act II, the American civil rights leader Martin Luther King Jr., in Act III.


- 1 -

1. Act I: the Kuru Field of Justice

2. Act I: Tolstoy Farm

3. Act I: the Vow

- 2 -

1. Act Ii: Confrontation and Rescue

2. Act Ii: Indian Opinion

3. Act Ii: Protest

- 3 -

1. Act Iii: Newcastle March

2. Act Ii: Part 2

3. Act Iii: Evening Song


Geen artikelen in winkelwagen.
© 2018 - 2021 Music Media Corner | sitemap | rss | webwinkel beginnen - powered by Mijnwebwinkel